Sprint naar content


Executive board

The Executive board is responsible for realising the organisation’s mission, educational vision, strategy and objectives and for the ensuing results trajectory. Board members are appointed by the Supervisory Board for a period of four years. They may be reappointed after this duration. The Executive Board is made up of three people with a mutual division of tasks between horizontal and vertical portfolios. The members of the Executive Board are jointly and individually accountable to the Supervisory Board for the manner in which the duties are performed.

The three Executive Board members are:

Joep Houterman
(Chairman of the board)

Hans Nederlof

Arian Steenbruggen

Arian Steenbruggen

Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board sees to it that the Executive Board is adequately managed. The tasks, powers and profile of the Supervisory Board are laid down in the statutes and the Administrative and Management Regulations. The Assessment framework which has been drawn up in accordance with the Code of Good Governance for Universities of Applied Sciences, contributes to a systematic interpretation of the supervisory role. The Supervisory Board is composed in such a way that the members can operate independently and critically with respect to each other, the Executive Board and any other interested parties. The Supervisory Board is made up of seven people and is supported by the secretary of the Executive Board.

Members serve for a term of four years, after which they become eligible for immediate re-election for a second term. A member of the Supervisory Board shall not sit on the Board for more than eight consecutive years. In committee, the Central Participation Council (CPC) has the right to advise on proposed appointment decisions.

  • Support & advice

    Support & advice

    The Executive Board is supported and advised in administrative, strategic and legal matters by the secretary, deputy secretary, management consultant and communications consultant.

    Jessie Rutten

    Jessie has been secretary of the Fontys Executive Board since 2015. She studied law at Radboud University Nijmegen and before joining Fontys she worked as a policy officer and administrative secretary in the social domain.

    Contact j.rutten@fontys.nl, Tel. 08850 74240.

    Sander Peters

    Sander Peters has been the speechwriter/communication advisor to the Fontys Executive Board since 2017. He studied history at Utrecht University, and has years of experience as a text and speech writer in the public domain.

    Contact sander.peters@fontys.nl, Tel. 06 38110955.

    Johan Struik

    Johan Struik has been a management consultant to the Fontys Executive Board since January 2019. In the capacity of secretary he also supports the Student Success, Quality, Research, Information Provision, Professional Arena & Relations, and Strategic Planning committees.

    Contact j.struik@fontys.nl, Tel. 06 12428395.

    Secretary to Executive Staff

    Anya Sondak: a.sondak@fontys.nl Tel.: 08850 83197